Ice and Love

This post is a little old but since I found it saved in my drafts I will update, because it was really important and I should have finished!

There was a lot I didn’t love about Valentines week.  For starters, I am T-I-R-E-D of winter weather!  The girls were out of school 3 days again due to ice.  There is a reason we live in Georgia!  I do agree it is beautiful, but enough.  I swear, between all the early federal holidays and weather and colds we have been out of school more than in since the first of the year.

20140213-164054.jpgIt is beautiful isn’t it?

20140213-164106.jpgThe last round of winter weather the kitties were all about it.  This time they mainly stayed on their bed in front of the space heater.  I think they are over it too!

Thankfully by the end of the week it was in the 60’s and beautiful and Valentines!  I’m not a huge Valentines person at all.  Call me rouge but I’d rather buy flowers half price the next week.  I’m all for loving on people but not to benefit the retailers and their crazy price increases.  However, there are some cute things you can do with what you already have to show a little extra love… Like turning a can of cinnamon rolls into hearts.

20140213-164115.jpg

Or planting some new blueberry bushes for your bride.

20140217-212332.jpgCan you see the difference in the weather from the top picture? This happened from Wednesday to Sunday.  Crazy, huh?

Also as a valentines gift to my inlaws, we offered to spend the night with Grandma.  My husband’s Grandmother has a mental illness that no longer allows her to live on her own so she lives with my mother and father in law.  I’m not sure if you have ever lived with someone after you’ve grown out of your “roommate years”. When I was pregnant with Annie we moved in with Grandma and Grandpa for 1 year and 2 months to help out and it was one of the hardest years of my life.  We learned so many things and there were a lot of moments I will cherish the rest of my life.  Even with all the good it’s just hard for grown ups who are established and used to living their own way to merge with another household.  Then add on a mental illness. So, while there is a lot of love and good days, my inlaws needed a break. Don’t we all?!  I don’t know about you but our parents do WAY too much for us.  There is no way we could ever repay any of them for the gifts they have given us but we do try to do what we can.  Providing them a date night was small for us and huge for them.

While that night was a gift to two other members of our family The Lord showed  an amazing reminder of His love to me through my husband.  That man drives me crazy!  It’s it funny that The Lord chose us to live together?  Sometimes I wonder if it’s to bring him laughter?!  Anyway, he came in Valentines night with Longhorns takeout, a pot of flowers for Grandma (even though we couldn’t get her to remember it was Valentines) and a bottle of wine and gelato for his bride.  Happy Happy Valentines day!   Later in the night I laid in the bedroom right off the living room trying to get Annie to sleep.  As I laid there I listened to my husband in a gentle and kind voice reassure his Grandmother of who he was, why she is where she is, remind her who her children are and who her husband was. He went over her husband’s life and death and reassured her that she would see him again in time.  He had to do this a few times because it was a lot to take in and she was completely confused.

At this phase of life The Cowboy and I are stressed more than not and are basically in a constant state of snippiness and frustration.  I don’t hear that gentle, kind voice of his as much as I did before we decided to birth 2 children in 2 and a half years. Did I mention he definitely doesn’t hear my love as much as he should?  But as I laid there on Valentines night I heard it.  I heard love and compassion and encouragement from my husband.  It was a situation that could have easily gotten old and frustrating really quickly, but he loved over and over.

It made me think about Jesus and how He could easily get frustrated and burnt out encouraging, reassuring and loving on us over and over and over again, but He doesn’t! He keeps a gentle voice and continues to push us along and hold us right where we are.  He reminds us of our history and reminds us that the battle is won and our day in heaven will be here before we know it.

So, we did gift another couple a great Valentines night away but the gift was all ours!  I’m so thankful for the love we have for each other! I’m more thankful for a greater love that shows us over and over again how to really love each other.  I’m also thankful that He said it loud enough for my ears to hear it!

20140217-212804.jpgThanks to naptimediaries for sharing this reminder

Leave a Reply

