She Who Leaves A Trail of Glitter…

Every year I have this great idea of letting Amelia make homemade Valentines.  Last year she opted for a box of Veggietales and I was SO bummed.  This year she decided to make her own.  Princess and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle “for the boys” stickers, glitter hearts and her very own signature “Love Amelia”.  I thought about writing something like You Make My Heart Sparkle around the glitter heart but opted to leave it as her creation.  This was all so much fun!  She went shopping with me to pick out everything and couldn’t wait to get home to make them.  As it turns out, writing Love Amelia 15 times is not nearly as much fun as she thought it would be.

20140212-085109.jpgSo we moved onto stickers.  That whipped by in no time and then it was on to glitter

I can not adequately describe how much I do not like glitter.  I’m fine with glitter once it is stuck onto a craft with glue and I really like it when it’s in a container.  Although, the thought of it spilling makes me hyperventilate.  I’m the same way about play-dough.  No need for all those colorful balls of clay to be all over the place.  We got play-dough for Christmas because Amelia LOVES it and I have to practice grace every time we get it out.  I usually just leave the room until she is done and worry about the mess afterwards.  If I try and participate I am cleaning up the whole time.  I really can’t help it, it’s who I am.  ANYWAY… back to glitter.  I tried to be patient.  I about lost it once (ok, I had a small snap) and poured a glass of wine for the rest of the cards.  I really do hate I’m so uptight about things like this because the last thing I want to do is ruin a good time for the girls.  I’m working on it, slowly…

20140212-085117.jpgBut even though I LOVE hot pink, specs of it all over my breakfast table just do not go with my kitchen décor

20140212-085127.jpgThey are awfully cute though!

A friend and I sent selfies back and forth a pretty good bit. This is what I sent her describing how I felt about leading my child towards homemade glitter valentines over a box of Sophia the Princess cards

20140212-085134.jpgJust keeping it real

And the evening after our crafty afternoon, this was in my instagram feed…

20140212-085142.jpgThankful for reminders that my girls are only babies once.  I pray I never steal their joy!  Especially in the little moments that really don’t matter in the scheme of things but do mean the world to them. There is an old country song by Dan Seals I love called “Everything That Glitters (is not gold).  Well you know, sometimes it is!

Matthew 18:1-3  At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”  He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

